Posted by: sheenastrain | September 15, 2008

15 minutes of Fame

“Have you seen the paper yet?!”

Everyone except me had seen the paper, but by late afternoon we had several copies brought to us for our perusal. Last week David was interviewed by a reporter from the local paper, The Commercial Dispatch to feature in their weekend edition. Well, you can read the piece here if you’re interested.

This morning we went to the bank together. As I was waiting for David a man approached me and said “I saw you in the paper!” He then proceeded to introduce himself and welcome us to Columbus. People are like that here, it’s a refreshing change from the anonymity we’d grown accustomed to in London. When we got back to the church later on a lady we’d never met before came into the office, “I saw the article in the paper yesterday and I wanted to meet you, I’m from Edinburgh!”  She had come to invite me for lunch tomorrow and to the British Women’s club which has a group meeting regularly in town. I’ll need to get myself a diary at this rate.

Responses

  1. Very nice article; the way that you’re noticed in Columbus is mind-boggling to me and that people just stop on by. Quite different, as you’d imagine, from southern California and very different as you know from London.

  2. Wow, local celebrities already! 🙂

    How was the British Women’s Club??

  3. I’ve not been to the meeting yet, there is a picnic at the end of the month so I’ll let you know then how it goes. I was out for lunch today with the lady from Edniburgh and that was nice.

  4. That is a really nice article. Don’t ask me why, but it made me all teary-eyed. Pregnancy hormones, I guess.

  5. Hey Sheena,

    Hope you’re all settling in. I just read the picture caption at the link you had to the article. I had to laugh. “New Main Street Presbyterian Church pastor David Strain, far right, and his wife Sheena… with their sons, 3-year-old Joel, second from left, and 6-year-old Euan.”

    They really had to point out that David was the one on the “far right” of the picture. Maybe just incase someone thought one of the kids was going to be pastoring…

    =P Blessings.


Leave a Reply

Categories

