Posted by: sheenastrain | October 8, 2008

Shrimp and Grits

I first sampled Shrimp and Grits at the William’s home last month when James visited. I believe Danny was the chef that night and his version was simply delicious. It’s a traditional Lowcountry dish with some creole influence.
Tonight, I decided to give it a bash and cook it for myself and the boys. I didn’t have Danny’s recipe and used one I found on the internet here. UK readers could try polenta as a substitute for grits, or if you can get hold of some pap from your South African friends, it’s basically the same stuff. Anyway, it turned out well and was really easy to cook.
I added some Tony’s spice which gave it some va va voom. I would definitely make this again, though I need to get some more advice on how to make fluffy grits rather than sticky grits.

Responses

  1. Grits are groats, right? Basically the grain of anything except rice, and not made into meal?

    It’s a bit like making rice. Don’t put too much water in: between 2 and 2 1/2 parts (by volume) of water to 1 part of groats – I don’t know what kind of groats “grits” are.

    I’ve read, but never tried, the following method of making the grits “free-flowing” and not sticky:

    measure out the groats you want to cook, add an egg white and mix well, put on a tray in the oven at 70 deg. C. for twenty minutes, crumble it all very thoroughly and then cook as normal.

    Another method I sort of use is to cook it for a bit, cover the pot, wrap it up well, and put it under cushions or a duvet for half an hour to an hour.

    Some people do something with rice where they “fry” it in a little oil and then add boiling water. FWIW.

  2. On the other hand, I don’t actuall know if grits=groats, so possibly igrone all of the above…

  3. I always wondered what grits where and never bothered to look on the internet. Now thanks to your pic I won’t have to. They never really seemed that appetizing to me; don’t know why. But I’ll believe you when you say that they’re delicious and let you convince me when I come visit… So perfect that grit(s)-making technique!!! 🙂

  4. I just can’t make myself like grits. The shrimp looks tasty though! 🙂

  5. Now Sarah, you have some Okie blood in you (Grandpa Ewel) – come on now, give them a try!


Leave a Reply

Categories

