Posted by: sheenastrain | June 13, 2009

Summer Reading

It’s de rigueur these days to tell everyone what you’re reading, so here’s my list. In the interests of full disclosure I should add that some of these books I’ve recently read, and some I’m still ploughing through.

In Defense of Food: An Eater’s Manifesto
Michael Pollan’s latest book takes a look the Western diet and the increasing popularity of processed food. If you enjoy foodie/research type books then this is a must read.

The Senator and the Sharecropper
Probably one of my favourite reads this year. Set in Sunflower County, in the heart of the Mississippi Delta, this book chronicles the lives of U.S. Senator James O. Eastland and sharecropper Fannie Lou Hamer. both on opposite sides of the fight for civil rights. I found it to be a well written and immensely readable book, a must read for anyone interested in the history of Mississippi and the civil rights movement.

Manhunt: The 12-Day Chase for Lincoln’s Killer
Still reading this one, but so far so good. A meticulously researched book detailing the assassination of Lincoln and the 12 day hunt for his killer, the die-hard confederate John Wilkes Booth.

Only in America
I like Matt Frei’s style, for those who don’t know him he’s the news anchor on BBC America. His book alternates between detailing the Frei family move to the USA and newsworthy stories such as Hurricane Katrina and the aftermath in New Orleans.

Adopted for Life: The Priority of Adoption for Christian Families & Churches
Just started this one, I think I’ll take it with me next week for GA.

Holding on to Hope
I’ve just got this one from Amazon, I haven’t started it yet, but it looks good.

Responses

  1. I like hearing what others are reading…it gives me some new fresh ideas. I’m like you – I often have several books going at once.


Leave a Reply

Categories

