Posted by: sheenastrain | June 19, 2009

Ligon Duncan and George Galloway

The Assembly is over and there were many highlights for me, one being Ligon Duncan’s use of the word “indefatigable” during his discussion with Tim Keller. The only other time I’ve heard that word used was when George Galloway addressed Saddam Hussein back in 1994. For the record, Ligon and George did not pronounce it the same way, so I’m none the wiser on its true pronunciation.

Dress among the delegates was mixed from shorts and flip flops to the usual suits, ties and tasseled slip on shoes. I think it’s fair to say that stripes are in this year and checked shirts, not so much.

I sat in on some of the debates, namely the one regarding the proposal to create a study committee over the role of women (which didn’t pass by the way) which was quite interesting, but much of the other business, for me at least, was as dull as thump. I’m sure though, if you were a delegate or the kind of person who reads the BCO at bedtime, then it was riveting stuff.

Responses

  1. You made me look again at George Galloway’s finest hour – possibly his only fine hour – , addressing that senate committee.

    “As a matter of fact, I have met Saddam Hussein exactly the same number of times as Donald Rumsfeld met him. The difference is Donald Rumsfeld met him to sell him guns and to give him maps the better to target those guns. I met him to try and bring about an end to sanctions, suffering and war, and on the second of the two occasions, I met him to try and persuade him to let Dr Hans Blix and the United Nations weapons inspectors back into the country – a rather better use of two meetings with Saddam Hussein than your own Secretary of State for Defence made of his.’

    And so on.

    Iain

  2. so funny that you posted about this…Hunter had also mentioned to me that Ligon had used that word.

    I’ve never tagged along to GA. Hope to do so next year if schedule permits. (nashville, I think.)

  3. It would be great to see you next year Abbie, Nashville should be a lot of fun!

  4. I’m planning to be there next year and I think Sarah is too!

  5. It would be really great to see you both!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

