Posted by: sheenastrain | July 16, 2009

Bread that never dies

Really good bread

Rather than sending yet more TARP money to Goldman Sachs and their cronies, the government should have spent it on getting real bread into supermarkets.

Commercially produced bread has the texture of sea sponge and tastes sweet due to large dollops of high fructose corn syrup and chemicals that have no business masquerading as food. It’s not right or good that bread lasts for weeks on end, it’s simply not natural.
Even the ‘fancy’ supermarket french sticks are full of preservatives, that’s criminal! Real french bread is so good that there shouldn’t be any left after lunch, any that is, is rock hard by 5 o’ clock.

The only answer is to make my own, but that requires some effort on my part. I’ve just come across this no knead recipe and might try it out today. If it works I’ll take pictures and let you know how it goes.

Responses

  1. bless you sheena strain…and your bread revolution!!!

  2. Not much of a revolution yet, I don’t think Walmart execs read my blog.

  3. I am with you, sister! Power to the bakers! I have been trying to make decent bread since arriving in the New World, but it is harder than I initially thought, but I press on because the bread situation is dire.

    We need an uprising of good bakers and good butchers!

    Vive la revolution!

  4. I’ve been wanting to try that no knead bread, can’t wait to hear how it turns out! 🙂

  5. Wonder bread is evil!

  6. I have to say, we are just back from Lyon where the bread was simply outstanding. Crispy on the outside, soft on the inside, fresh tasting, always freshly baked… c’etait tres bon !

  7. James certainly did NOT help my feelings! I can smell the whiffs of bagettes in the oven at the very thought… the BEST bread recipe I’ve used is in Jacques Pepin’s Celebration book…a true bagette done in the food processor. Don’t be put off by the length of his recipe; he’s a teacher and wants to share every thought of each step along the way. This was good enough to become a professor’s new favorite. ‘Nuff said. Wafts of hot bagette @ home!


Leave a Reply

Categories

